Alex Morgan named female professional athlete of the year at Oregon Sports Awards

March 10, 2014 Press

Portland Thorns forward Alex Morgan was awarded the Harry Glickman Award, given to the female professional athlete of the year, and the Thorns won the George Pasero Award as one of Oregon’s teams of the year at the Oregon Sports Awards Sunday night.

Morgan helped guide the Thorns to the inaugural National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) Championship, leading the team with eight goals and five assists during the regular season.

The teams of the year awards honor Oregon’s championship-winning teams. The Thorns won the inaugural NWSL championship title with a 2-0 win over top-seeded Western New York in August.